Glo-CAF Awards 2016: Ayew only Ghanaian in Player of the Year list

Forward Andre Ayew emerged Ghana’s only candidate as the Confederation of African Football (Caf) released an initial 30-man list to vie for the African Player of the Year at the 2016 edition of the annual Glo-CAF Awards.

The Glo-CAF Awards Gala returns to Nigeria’s capital Abuja, where it has mostly been staged. It has been scheduled for Thursday, 5 January 2017.

Ayew who switched camp from Swansea City to West Ham in the summer earned his place as a result of his impressive performances over the past year for the Welsh club and at the international level with the Black Stars.

Gabon and Borussia Dortmund striker, Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang won the award in 2015 and has been nominated once again. However, four-time winner, Ivorian and Manchester City midfielder Yaya Toure did not make the list after getting dethroned last year.

English Premier League player of the Year, Riyad Mahrez has also been nominated alongside club teammate, Islam Slimani while the likes of Ahmed Musa, Eric Bailly, Kelechi Iheanacho, Sadio Mane, Samuel Eto’o have all been included the prestigious list of Africa’s best players.


In view of the Glo-CAF Awards 2016, the Confédération Africaine de Football (CAF) has expanded the network for the decision making process with the constitution an Electoral College for the voting process.

The Electoral Colleges are:
1 – Members of the CAF Media Committee
2 – Members of the CAF Technical and Development Committee
3 – Panel of 20 experts (Journalists, TV consultants)
4 – Member Associations (Head Coaches of National Team ‘A’ or National Technical Directors

For the two main awards, African Player of the Year and African Player of the Year –
Based in Africa, all four components of the Electoral College (listed above) will be involved in the selection process which has been classified into two phases.

Colleges 1,2 and Half of 3 will be involved in Phase 1, whilst Colleges 4 and half of 3 for Phase 2.

For the other award categories, only 1, 2 and 3 will take part in the selection of the eventual

Full list:

Ahmed Musa – Leicester City (England) and Nigeria

Andre Ayew – West Ham (England) and Ghana

Aymen Abdennour – Valencia (Spain) and Tunisia

Benjamin Mounkandjo – Lorient (France) and Cameroon

Cedric Bakambu – Villareal (Spain) and DR Congo

Dennis Onyango – Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa) and Uganda

El Arabi Hillel Soudani – Dinamo Zagreb (Croatia) and Algeria

Eric Bailly – Manchester United (England) and Ivory Coast

Hakim Ziyech – Ajax (Netherlands) and Morocco

Islam Slimani – Leicester City (England) and Algeria

Itumeleng Khune – Kaizer Chiefs (South Africa) and South Africa

John Mikel Obi – Chelsea (England) and Nigeria

Kalidou Koulibaly – Napoli (Italy) and Senegal

Keegan Dolly – Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa) and South Africa

Kelechi Iheanacho – Manchester City (England) and Nigeria

Khama Billiat – Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa) and Zimbabwe

Mbwana Samatta – Genk (Belgium) and Tanzania

Mehdi Benatia – Juventus (Italy) and Morocco

Mohamed El Neny – Arsenal (England) and Egypt

Mohamed Salah – Roma (Italy) and Egypt

Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang – Borussia Dortmund (Germany) and Gabon

Riyad Mahrez – Leicester City (England) and Algeria

Sadio Mane – Liverpool (England) and Senegal

Samuel Eto’o – Antalyaspor (Turkey) and Cameroon

Serge Aurier – PSG (France) and Ivory Coast

Victor Wanyama – Tottenham (England) and Kenya

Wahbi Khazri – Sunderland (England) and Tunisia

William Jebor – Wydad Casablanca (Morocco) and Liberia

Yannick Bolasie – Everton (England) and DR Congo

Yao Kouasi Gervais ‘Gervinho’ – Hebei Fortune (China) and Ivory Coast

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.