CAF CC: Medeama thumped 3-1 by Mazembe [Watch Highlights]

Medeama SC were hammered 3-1 in their first match of the 2016 CAF Confederation Cup group stage by TP Mazembe in Lubumbashi on Sunday.

The Yellow and Mauves took the lead two minutes into the first half through their Malik Akowuah but minutes later, Medeama were handed a scare as Mazembe found an equalizer from a free-kick but it was cancelled and had to be re-taken.

The Champions League winners swung series of passes together and found an opening at the left side of defence of Medema – Bope sent in a teasing cross which eluded everybody in box but not Rainford Kalaba who headed in for the equalizer in the 15th minute.

Medeama never really threatened the back line of Mazembe after their early goal but came under barrage of attacks, clearing their lines several times.

Goalkeeper Muntari Tagoe was forced to make an excellent save from Kalaba’s free-kick which denied the home side having their noses in-front. The Yellow and Mauves subsequently failed to clear their lines, just before half time from a corner kick which saw Nathan Sinkala’s looping header find defender Coulibaly at near post to slot home Mazembe’s second goal of the game.

Back from recess, Medeama came out of their shells bossing the game particularly in midfield. Mazembe were forced to defend from the centre circle but the only recipe required from the Tarkwa-based club was the cutting edge from the attackers. They kept pushing more men forward with high hopes of drawing level.

Against the run of play in the 70th minute and sheer loss of concentration, Kalaba once again went past Paul Aidoo with ease and curled the ball from his inside foot to beat Tagoe in post for his second goal of the day.

Mazembe controlled affairs after their third goal while Medeama looked worn out. The match ended 3-1 infavour of TP Mazembe.

Medeama will play as host to Algerian side MO Bejaia on the 29th of June.


TP Mazembe XI

R. Kidiaba, J. Kasusula, S. Coulibaly, C. Luyindama, G. Singuluma, S. Asante, N. Sinkala, M. Bokadi, Nii Adjei, R. Kalaba, T. Ulimwengu

Medeama SC XI

M. Tagoe, P. Aidoo, M. Sarpong, K. Boahene, M. Akowuah, K. Donsu, F. Addo, E. Kwakwa, V. Ayirey, A. Mohammed, B. Oppong.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.