Egypt name provisional 29-man World Cup squad

Egypt have announced a preliminary 29-man squad for the 2018 Fifa World Cup in Russia

Head coach Hector Cuper has called on 18 foreign-based stars led by Premier League top scorer Mohamed Salah and Arsenal’s Elneny – a mixture of players featuring in leagues in Europe, the MLS and Saudi Arabia.

There are also 11 players added to the group from the Egyptian Premier League – Al Ahly dominate with six players, followed by three from Zamalek while Ismaily and Al Masry have a player each.

Egypt’s squad will begin their final camping ahead of the World Cup on May 22.

Coach Hector Cuper will whittle down the numbers with their final 23-man squad list expected to be finalized for submission to Fifa on June 4 at the latest.

“The camp will start with an open training on 22 May before the team fly to Kuwait for the first friendly game,” the team’s administrative manager Ehab Leheta stated, according to the Egyptian Football Association Facebook page.

The Pharaohs are scheduled to play three friendly matches amid the last camp before the anticipated World Cup finals in Russia mid-June.

The Kuwait friendly will be held on 25 May, one week before playing Colombia in the Italian city of Bergamo. The last game will be against Belgium in Brussels on 6 June.

Housed in Group A, Egypt, who are back at the World Cup after a 28-year absence, kick off their campaign against Uruguay on 15 June, four days before facing hosts Russia and then ending the group stage against Saudi Arabia on 25 June.

You can see the full squad below:


Essam El-Hadary (Taawoun, Saudi Arabia), Mohamed El-Shennawi (Ahly), Sherif Ekramy (Ahly) and Mohamed Awaad (Ismaily).


Ahmed Fathi (Ahly), Ahmed Elmohamady (Aston Villa, England), Omar Gaber (Los Angeles FC, USA), Mohamed Abdel-Shafi (Al-Fateh, KSA), Saad Samir (Ahly), Ahmed Hegazi (West Bromwich, England), Ali Gabr (West Bromwich, England), Ayman Ashraf (Ahly), Karim Hafiz (Lens, France), Amro Tarek (Orlando City, USA) and Mahmoud “El-Winsh” Hamdy (Zamalek).


Shikabala (Al-Raed, Saudi Arabia), Abdallah El-Said (KuPS, Finland), Mohamed Elneny (Arsenal, England), Tarek Hamed (Zamalek), Mahmoud Kahraba (Ittihad Jeddah, KSA), Mahmoud “Trezeguet” Hassan (Kasimpasa, Turkey), Ramadan Sobhi (Stoke City, England), Sam Morsy (Wigan, England), Amr Warda (Atromitos, Greece) and Mahmoud Abdel-Aziz (Zamalek).


Mohamed Salah (Liverpool, England), Marwan Mohsen (Ahly), Ahmed Koka (Sporting Braga, Portugal) and Ahmed Gomaa (Masry).



Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.