2018 WCQ: Congo reward CHAN boys in squad for Ghana

Congo coach Sébastien Migné has released a 24-man list for their double World Cup qualifying games against Ghana in September.  

Four home-based players, who helped the country to qualify for the 2018 CHAN at the expense of rivals and defending champions DR Congo, have been rewarded a place in the squad.

Vladis-Emmerson Illoy-Ayyet, centre-back for FC Olimpik Donetsk; Saint-Louis Dilane (Saint Etienne) and Juvelh Tsoumou (Ermis) will be chasing their first international caps for the ‘Diables Rouges’ who face the Black Stars on Day 3 and 4 of the Russia World Cup qualifying rounds for Africa.

READ ALSO: 2018 WCQ: Gyasi, Waja listed; Atsu among returnees for Ghana vs Congo tie

While dropping about eight known stars, coach Migné, the 44-year-old former French footballer decided to keep faith with experienced batch of Thievy Bifouma, Prince Oniangue, Delvin Ndinga, Bouka Moutou, Baudry Marvin, Fabrice Ondama and Fodé Doré who have become regulars since the 2015 Afcon.

The list is made-up of three goalkeepers and seven outfield players each in defense, midfield and attack.

The ‘Diables Rouges’ will play as guests to the Black Stars of Ghana on September 1 before hosting them at the Stade Alponse Massamba-Debat Stadium four days later.

Full squad:


Mouko Barel (CS La Mancha, Congo), Mafoumbi Christoffer (Free State Stars, South Africa), Ndzila Pavelh (Etoile du Congo, Congo)


Barenger Itoua (CARA Brazzaville, Congo), Vladis-Emmerson Illoy-Ayyet (Olimpik Donetsk, Ukraine). Dikamona Clevid (Bourg-Péronnas, France), Badila Tobias (Nancy, France), Baudary Marvin (Zulte Waregem, Belgium), Fernand Mayembo (Grenoble, France), Bouka Moutou Arnold (Dijon, France)


Oniangue Prince (Wolverhampton Wanderers, England), Pambou Yves Simon (DAC 1904 Dunajska Streda, Slovakia), Jordan Massengo (Union SG, France), Ndinga Delvln (Lokomotiv Moscow, Russia), Avounou Durel (Caen, France), Magnokele Bissiki Dimitri (AC Leopards, Congo), Ndockyt Merveil (Tirana, Albania)

Strikers: Dore Ferebory (Angers, France), Thievy Bifouma (Osmanlispor, Turkey), Nguessi Ondama Fabrice (Wydad Casablanca, Morocco), Bahamboula Dylan (Dijon, France), Rahavi Kifoueti (Doxa Katokopias, Cypriot), Tsoumou Juvehl (Unattached), Saint Louis Dylan (Saint Etienne, France)


NOTE: Local players highlighted





Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.