AFCON 2017: Egypt name final 23-man squad

Head coach of the Egyptian national team Hector Cuper has presented his final 23-man squad ahead of the 2017 African Cup of Nations in Gabon.

The 61-year-old initially named a 27-provisional list last week before further pruning the list to the required 23 players.

Zamalek striker Basem Morsi, who featured against Ghana in the Russia 2018 World Cup Qualifiers was left out in the initial list due to technical reasons.

Hamada Tolba, Ahmed Gomaa, Mohamed Awad and Mohamed Ibrahim, who made the initial list were dropped when the final list was presented.

The 23-man squad:

Goalkeepers: Ahmed El-Shennawy (Zamalek), Essam El-Hadary (Wadi Degla), Sherif Ekramy (Al Ahly)


Defenders: Ahmed Fathi (Al Ahly), Ahmed Elmohamady (Hull City – England), Mohamed Abdel-Shafy (Al-Ahli – KSA), Karim Hafez (Lens – France), Ahmed Hegazy (Al Ahly), Saad Samir (Al Ahly), Ahmed Dweidar (Zamalek), Ali Gabr (Zamalek), Omar Gaber (Basel – Switzerland).


Midfielders: Mohamed Elneny (Arsenal – England), Tarek Hamed (Zamalek), Ibrahim Salah (Zamalek), Abdallah El-Said (Al Ahly), Amr Warda (Panetolikos – Greece), Ramadan Sobhi (Stoke City – England), Mahmoud Hassan ‘Trezeguet’ (Royal Mouscron – Belgium).


Forwards: Ahmed Hassan ‘Koka’ (Braga – Portugal), Marwan Mohsen (Al Ahly), Mahmoud Abdel-Moneim ‘Kahraba’ (Al-Ittihad – KSA), Mohamed Salah (AS Roma – Italy).


Egypt are making their first appearance at the tournament after a seven-year absence since winning it in Angola 2010. They are placed in group D alongside Ghana, Mali and Uganda.


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.