NO DELAYS: Gabon names Aubameyang, 22 others in final #Afcon2017 squad

2017 Africa Cup of Nations hosts Gabon are first to announce their final squad for the January14-February 5 competition.

New coach of the Panthers, José Antonio Camacho Tuesday went straight without the somewhat ‘traditional’ prelist as he revealed a 23-man squad to attempt to fulfill the ‘host and win’ mantra at Africa’s elite championship.

There is no big surprise in the list presented by the experienced Spanish coach featuring the likes of front man Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang, long-serving goalkeeper Didier Ovono, Cardiff City’s Ecuele Manga and Turkish-based Andre Poko while handing France-based forward Denis Bouanga a debut call-up.

The Panthers coach has however placed three players on standby for any eventualities during the course of preparations. They include Axel Meyé (Eskisehirspor, Turkey), Johan Lengoualama (Raja Casablanca, Morocco), Donald Nzé (AS Pelican).

Gabon will begin their preparations on January 3 but are yet to confirm any warm-up game before their opening game on January 14, 2017.

Based in Libreville, Afcon 2017 hosts Gabon will face Cameroon, Guinea Bissau and Burkina Faso in Group A of the 35th edition of the competition.

Gabon final squad:

Didier Ovono (KV Oostende, Belgium), Yves Stéphane Bitséki Moto (CF Mounana), Anthony Mfa Mezui (without a club).


Lloyd Palun (Red Star, France), André Biyogho Poko (Kardemir Karabukspor, Turkey), Aaron Appindangoye (Stade Lavallois, France), Franck Perrin Obambou (Mandji Stadium), Bruno Ecuele Manga (Cardiff City FC, Wales), Yoann Wachter (CS Sedan Ardennes, France), Johann Serge Obiang (ESTAC Troyes, France), Benjamin Zé Ondo (Mosta FC, Malta)


Junior Serge Martinsson Ngouali (IF Brommapojkarna, Sweden), Levy Clement Madinda (Nastic Tarragona, Spain), Guelor Kanga Kaku (Red Star Belgrade, Serbia), Merlin Tandjigora (Meixian Hakka FC, China), Didier Ibrahim Ndong (Sunderland AFC, England), Samson Mbingui (Raja Casablanca, Morocco), Mario René Junior Lemina (Juventus Turin, Italy)


Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Borussia Dortmund, Germany), Malick Evouna (Tianjin Teda FC China), Denis Athanasius Bouanga (Tours FC, France), Serge Kevyn Aboue Angoué (Uniao Leiria, Portugal), Cedric Ondo Biyoghe (CF Mounana)

On Standby

Axel Meyé (Eskisehirspor, Turkey), Johan Lengoualama (Raja Casablanca, Morocco), Donald Nzé (AS Pelican).


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.